Introductions

Hello everyone, my name is AspieRabbit, but you can just call me Rabbit.  This blog, if you had not deduced from the title, is another “day in the life of an aspie” type blog, wherein I describe various social, emotional and cultural experiences through the lens of an aspie — a person with Asperger syndrome, or high functioning autism; me.

As a full-time college student, I will have some interesting stories to tell that revolve around today’s youth, and the general higher education system.  As a self-ascribed expert on autism spectrum disorders, I will occasionally provide “advice” posts for friends, family, teachers and significant others of aspies wherein I attempt to bridge the social and emotional gap by offering suggestions on how best to support those in your life who are on the spectrum.  Fellow aspies, I will attempt to impart the knowledge I collect as I go about life regarding everything from social encounters, dating (you may be waiting a while on this one), how to handle sensory issues, and how to both self-and professionally diagnose, among many others.  I myself was self-diagnosed for the better part of two years, and, when done correctly, it is a perfectly valid claim to make from a social standpoint.  Clinical help, accommodations and government assistance however, all require the piece of paper.

At any rate, I hope you all enjoy reading this as much as I will enjoy writing it.  Welcome to the oddball sanctuary.

 

P.S. if readers ever have topics they would like to see addressed, leave them in the comments and I will try to get to them 🙂

Leave a Reply

